Call for Papers

ICTCS 2023 – 24th Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science
September 13-15, 2023, Palermo, Italy

Scope and Topics

The Italian Conference on Theoretical Computer Science (ICTCS) is the conference of the Italian Chapter of the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science.

The purpose of ICTCS is to foster the cross-fertilization of ideas stemming from different areas of theoretical computer science. In particular, ICTCS provides an ideal environment where junior researchers and PhD students can meet senior researchers. 

Contributions in any area of theoretical computer science are warmly invited from researchers of all nationalities.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:
agents, algorithms, argumentation, automata theory, complexity theory, computational logic, computational social choice, concurrency theory, cryptography, discrete mathematics, distributed computing, dynamical systems, formal methods, game theory, graph theory, knowledge representation, languages, model checking, process algebras, quantum computing, rewriting systems, security and trust, semantics, specification and verification, systems biology, theorem proving, type theory.

Paper Submission

Two types of contributions, written in English and formatted according to Springer LNCS style, are solicited.

Regular papers: up to 12 pages PLUS bibliography, presenting original results not appeared or submitted elsewhere. To ease the reviewing process, the authors of regular papers may add an appendix, although reviewers are not required to consider it in their evaluation.

Communications: up to 5 pages PLUS bibliography, suitable for extended abstracts of papers already appeared/submitted or to be submitted elsewhere, as well as papers reporting ongoing research on which the authors wish to get feedback and overviews of PhD theses or research projects.

Authors are invited to submit their manuscripts in PDF format via EasyChair.

Submission Page:

All accepted original contributions (regular papers and communications) will be published on

For each accepted contribution, at least one of the authors is required to attend the conference and present the paper.

TCS Special Issue

Following the tradition, the authors of the very best papers presented at the conference will be invited to submit an extended version of their work in a special issue of Theoretical Computer Science journal.
Invitations will be sent out after the workshop. The target is to publish the special issue by the end of the year 2024.

Important Dates

Abstract submission: May 30 June 7, 2023 (AoE)

Paper submission: June 4 June 8, 2023

Notification: July 4 July 18, 2023

Revised version for pre-proceedings: July 16 July 31, 2023

Conference: September 13-15, 2023

Final version for proceedings: TBA

Invited Speakers

Mikołaj Bojańczyk, ( University of Warsaw, Poland

Paola Bonizzoni, ( University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy

Program Committee

Marcella Anselmo (University of Salerno, Italy)

Davide Bilò (University of L’Aquila, Italy)

Giuseppa Castiglione (University of Palermo, Italy) (co-chair)

Giovanna D’Agostino (University of Udine, Italy)

Ugo Dal Lago (University of Bologna, Italy)

Gianluca Della Vedova (University of Milano-Bicocca, Italy)

Chiara Epifanio (University of Palermo, Italy)

Daniele Gorla (University of Roma-la Sapienza, Italy)

Zsuzsanna Liptak (University of Verona, Italy)

Maria Madonia (University of Catania, Italy)

Andrea Marino (University of Firenze, Italy)

Emanuela Merelli (University of Camerino, Italy)

Filippo Mignosi (University of L’Aquila, Italy)

Adriano Peron (University of Trieste, Italy)

Cinzia Pizzi (University of Padova, Italy)

Matteo Pradella (University of Milano-Politecnico, Italy)

Nicola Prezza (University of Venezia-Ca’ Foscari)

Giovanna Rosone (University of Pisa, Italy)

Luca Roversi (University of Torino, Italy)

Pierluigi San Pietro (University of Milano-Politecnico, Italy)

Marinella Sciortino (University of Palermo, Italy) (co-chair)

Blerina Sinaimeri (University of Roma-LUISS, Italy)

Simone Tini (University of Insubria, Italy)

Elena Zucca (University of Genova, Italy)

Organising Committee

Chiara Epifanio (University of Palermo, Italy)

Gabriele Fici (University of Palermo, Italy)

Manuela Flores (University of Palermo, Italy)

Sabrina Mantaci (University of Palermo, Italy)

Arianna Pavone (University of Palermo, Italy)

Giuseppe Romana (University of Palermo, Italy)

Marco E. Tabacchi (University of Palermo, Italy)